New artificial intelligence expert group

Following the Government’s interim response to the Safe and Responsible AI in Australia consultation, Minister for Industry and Science Ed Husic has today announced the establishment of a new Artificial Intelligence Expert Group.

The Group will provide advice to the Department of Industry, Science and Resources on immediate work on transparency, testing and accountability, including options for AI guardrails in high-risk settings, to help ensure AI systems are safe.

The Group has already started work and met for the first time on Friday 2 February 2024.

The twelve appointees to the Artificial Intelligence Expert Group are:

  • Professor Bronwyn Fox: CSIRO Chief Scientist, represents Australia on the panel overseeing the international Frontier AI State of the Science report.
  • Aurélie Jacquet: A leading figure in the development of responsible artificial intelligence systems, Chair of Australia’s national AI standards committee, OECD expert on AI risks, and advisor on international AI certification initiatives. 
  • Dr Terri Janke: An international authority on Indigenous Cultural and Intellectual Property (ICIP).
  • Angus Lang SC: A leading legal practitioner and sought after contributor on intellectual property law and AI, addressing developments in Australia and Europe.
  • Professor Simon Lucey: Director of the Australian Institute for Machine Learning at the University of Adelaide, with a background in artificial intelligence, autonomous vehicles, and research spanning computer vision, machine learning, and robotics.
  • Professor Jeannie Paterson: Founding co-director of the Centre for AI and Digital Ethics, and leading contributor to legal and regulatory reform processes in Australia and internationally.
  • Professor Ed Santow: Co-founder of the Human Technology Institute, leading major initiatives to promote human-centred artificial intelligence.
  • Professor Nicolas Suzor: A Future Fellow at QUT, a Chief Investigator of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Automated Decision-Making & Society, and expert on the governance of digital technologies.
  • Professor Toby Walsh: Widely recognised voice on AI development, with leading roles at Data 61 and UNSW, and numerous international fellowships. 
  • Professor Kimberlee Weatherall: A Chief Investigator with the ARC Centre of Excellence for Automated Decision-Making and Society.
  • Professor Peta Wyeth: An internationally recognised researcher on human computer interaction, human-centred artificial intelligence, and design practice and management.
  • Bill Simpson Young: Co-founder and CEO of Gradient Institute, founded to accelerate the ethical progress of AI-based systems, and leading technologist for the safe and responsible use of AI.

The group will be in place until 30 June 2024. The Government is considering longer-term arrangements as part of its work implementing the interim response to the safe and responsible AI consultation. 

The Australian Government’s interim response is available here:

Quotes attributable to the Hon. Ed Husic, Minister for Industry and Science:

“This Artificial Intelligence Expert Group brings the right mix of skills to steer the formation of mandatory guardrails for high-risk AI settings. 

“With expertise in law, ethics and technology, I’m confident this group will get the balance right.

“It’s imperative sophisticated models underpinning high risk AI systems are transparent and well tested. 

“Last month I announced our interim response to the Safe and Response AI consultation, and now we’ve delivered this impressive group to work on next steps.”