Media Releases

Joint media release with the Minister for the Environment and Water the Hon Tanya Plibersek MP.

Minister for Resources and Northern Australia Madeleine King delivered her first Annual Ministerial Statement to Parliament on the Albanese Government’s vision for Northern Australia.

Joint media release with the Prime Minister Anthony Albanese

Leading Australian oceanographer Professor Trevor McDougall has received the $250,000 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science, for his pioneering work in understanding the ocean’s role in regulating climate. 

A computer scientist monitoring space debris and a hydroclimatologist investigating how floods and droughts begin are just some of the 60 outstanding women and non-binary people in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) who have been named the latest Superstars of STEM.

The CSIRO Board today announced that CSIRO’s Chief Executive, Dr Larry Marshall, will complete his third and final term in June 2023. Dr Marshall has led CSIRO since 2015.

Joint media release with the Member for Blair Shayne Neumann MP and Member for Oxley Milton Dick MP.
The Albanese Labor Government is delivering on its election commitment to support biomanufacturing in Queensland.

Minister for Resources and Northern Australia Madeleine King will visit Japan next week to strengthen trade and investment ties with Australia’s top strategic partner in the region.

Joint media release with Minister for Trade and Tourism Don Farrell.

The Australian Government will commit up to $250 million in loans to support the expansion of Pilbara Minerals Limited’s Pilgangoora Operations in Western Australia. 

Joint media release with Minister for International Development and the Pacific Pat Conroy.

The Australian Government and CSIRO will commence a partnership with Google to combine world-leading artificial intelligence and digital science with cutting-edge climate science to respond to the climate change crisis in the Indo-Pacific.

Experienced national regulator Ms Sue McCarrey has been appointed Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority (NOPSEMA) for a three-year term from February 2023.