Leadership changes at the Energy Security Board

Industry, Energy and Emissions Reduction Minister Angus Taylor has paid tribute to outgoing chair of the Energy Security Board Dr Kerry Schott AO, who has chosen to step aside after leading the board for four years.

Minister Taylor said Dr Schott led the ESB with distinction and had been a trusted source of advice and support for federal, state and territory energy ministers as they worked on reforms for the post 2025 electricity market.

“Dr Schott has been an excellent leader who has shaped the project to reform our electricity market to make sure it can continue to deliver secure, reliable and affordable electricity across the country beyond 2025,” Minister Taylor said.

“The recommendations for reform delivered by the ESB including a critical proposal for a capacity mechanism, represent a major milestone in progressing a fit-for-purpose market design.

“Dr Schott has supported energy ministers as they worked through the reforms, and the changes to the structure and focus of the ESB. I thank Dr Schott for her hard work over the past four years.”

Minister Taylor also thanked former deputy chair David Swift for his exemplary work at the ESB.

Under the changes to the ESB, the board will be reduced from five members to three.

The new chair will be Ms Anna Collyer, who is also Chair of the Australian Energy Market Commission. Ms Collyer will lead the board as it restructures and takes on responsibility for implementing aspects of the electricity market reforms agreed to by energy ministers.

Ms Collyer has more than two decades of experience in the Australian energy sector and has worked extensively on industry reform. She has been Chair of the Australian Energy Market Commission since February 2021.

“I look forward to continuing to work with Ms Collyer and fellow ESB members Clare Savage (Chair of the Australian Energy Regulator) and Daniel Westerman (Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Energy Market Operator) as they progress implementation of critical market reforms,” Minister Taylor said.

“Pivoting the Energy Security Board to implementing the Post-2025 market design project will ensure Australia’s energy markets remain secure, reliable and affordable in the face of unprecedented change throughout the energy sector.”

Media contact:

Minister Taylor's office 02 6277 7120