Helping community groups lower power bills

Community groups are being supported by the Morrison Government to lower their power bills and play their part in helping to reduce Australia’s emissions.

Across Australia, 275 not-for-profit community groups have each been awarded grants of up to $12,500 for energy-saving projects under the Government’s Energy Efficient Communities Program.

Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction Angus Taylor said up to two community groups in each federal electorate will receive support for an energy-saving project such as installing a solar PV system, upgrading to more energy efficient equipment or having an energy audit done on their premises.

“Energy bills are often one of the biggest overheads for volunteer organisations, and we want to help ease some of the financial pressures facing our hardworking community groups,” Minister Taylor said.

“These groups are the lifeblood of our towns and regions. The more they can save on running costs, the more they can spend to support their communities.”

Successful applicants include charity shops, local men’s sheds, scout groups, sporting clubs, youth support services, churches, community childcare centres, senior citizens clubs, historical societies and wildlife rescue organisations.

The Energy Efficient Communities Program was announced as part of the Government’s Climate Solutions Package in the 2019 Budget.

The program will deliver grants to help businesses and community organisations to improve energy efficiency practices and technologies, and better manage energy consumption to reduce their power bills.

In addition to grants for community organisations, the program will provide $10 million for dairy farming businesses, $9 million for small businesses and $15 million for high energy-using businesses.

Applications are now open for the dairy and small business round. Further information on the Energy Efficient Communities Program is available at Businesses that wish to apply for a grant can access the guidelines and application forms at or by telephone on 13 28 46.

Media contact:

Minister Taylor's office: 02 6277 7120