Chair reappointed at the Australian Energy Market Operator

Energy Ministers have agreed to reappoint Mr Drew Clarke AO PSM FTSE to the position of Chair of the Board of the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO) for a second term of four years.

Mr Clarke’s government and energy sector experience and continuity in the role will support a period of rapid change in the National Electricity Market, including delivery of critical market reforms agreed by Energy Ministers.

Mr Clarke was originally appointed Chair of the AEMO Board in 2017. 

Mr Clarke has extensive senior experience in government having led two departments and three agencies, including as Secretary of the Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism until 2013.  

Mr Clarke has strong experience and knowledge of the energy sector, including the National Electricity Market and the gas markets. 

He was awarded an Order of Australia in 2016 for distinguished service to public administration and is a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

Mr Clarke is currently a Director of CSIRO and of NBN Co.

Energy Ministers noted the high standard of Mr Clarke’s performance as Chair during his current term, and the importance of continuity in this key position following the recent commencement of Mr Daniel Westerman in the role of AEMO CEO in May.

“I thank Mr Clarke for his exemplary performance to date and welcome his reappointment to this critical role,” said Minister Taylor. 

“I look forward to continuing to work with him to progress important energy market reforms, including detailed design of a capacity mechanism.”

Media contact:

Minister Taylor's office 02 6277 7120