Australian Energy Infrastructure Commissioner reappointed

Joint media release with Assistant Minister for Industry, Energy and Emissions Reduction the Hon Tim Wilson MP

The Australian Energy Infrastructure Commissioner, Mr Andrew Dyer, has been reappointed in the role for a further four year term.

Mr Dyer was first appointed as the National Wind Farm Commissioner in 2015. In March 2021, the role was expanded and re-named the Australian Energy Infrastructure Commissioner. The role’s additional responsibilities include helping to address community concerns about the design, planning, construction and operations of new large scale transmission projects.

Minister for Industry, Energy and Emissions Reduction Angus Taylor congratulated Mr Dyer on his outstanding contribution to the role since his 2015 appointment.

“The government wants to make sure community concerns about new energy infrastructure, including large-scale wind, solar and transmission, are heard and resolved, and I thank Mr Dyer for continued commitment to this crucial role,” Minister Taylor said.

Assistant Minister for Industry, Energy and Emissions Reduction Tim Wilson welcomed the reappointment.

“As investment in renewable energy developments, and cost-effective transmission continues to grow at a rapid rate, it is critical that local communities have avenues to participate in planning and that their views and concerns are addressed” Assistant Minister Wilson said.

“I look forward to working with Mr Dyer to support this outcome.”

The Commissioner’s office has handled over 645 cases since inception in 2015.

Mr Dyer’s role also includes helping industry and governments by identifying and promoting adoption of best practices for planning and deploying energy infrastructure projects.

His new four year term will commence on 1 November 2021.

Further information on the Commissioner’s role, including the Terms of Reference and Annual Reports , can be viewed here.
Media contact:

Minister Taylor's office 02 6277 7120