Appointments to the Climate Change Authority

On behalf of the Australian Government, I am pleased to announce new appointments to the Climate Change Authority.

Mr Grant King has been appointed as the Chair of the Authority for a term of four years. He is joined at the Authority by new members Ms Susie Smith and Mr John McGee.

Mr King is a thought leader who has already made a significant contribution to the development of Australia’s emissions reduction policy framework. He continues to serve as a member of the Government’s Technology Investment Roadmap Advisory Council and recently chaired an expert panel tasked with unlocking low-cost abatement across the economy (the King Review).

Mr King brings 40 years’ experience in energy, finance, infrastructure and sustainability. A former President of the Business Council of Australia, he is currently Chairman of HSBC Australia, CWP Renewables and GreenCollar and previously held leadership roles at Origin Energy and Boral.

Ms Smith is currently the Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Industry Greenhouse Network and has significant emissions reduction policy expertise. She served as a member of the King Review expert panel, as a director of the CRC for Contamination Assessment and Remediation of the Environment (CRC CARE) and contributed to the work of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Task Force on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories. She is currently a director of Water Polo Australia and the CRC for Future Energy Exports (CRC FEnEx).

Mr McGee was most recently the Managing Director of Bank of New York Australia Pty Ltd and has extensive financial services and commercial experience. He previously served as a director at Air Services Australia, the Private Health Insurance Administrative Council and Westpac Funds Management.

These new members will play a key role in ensuring the Authority provides robust advice to Government on emissions reduction policy.

I thank the departing Chair Dr Wendy Craik, who has led the Authority since 2015. I also extend my gratitude to outgoing members Ms Kate Carnell, Mr Stuart Allison and Mr John Sharp.

Media contact:

Minister Taylor's office: 02 6277 7120