Two new members for Science and Technology Council

An internationally recognised mathematician and a distinguished research scientist have been appointed as scientific expert members of the National Science and Technology Council for three years. 

Emeritus Professor Cheryl Praeger AC and Associate Professor Jeremy Brownlie replace Professor Barbara Howlett and Professor Geordie Williamson, whose terms finished at the end of last year.

Announcing the appointments, Minister for Science and Technology Melissa Price said she was sure the two new members would be of great assistance to the Council.

“Professor Praeger’s work in pure and applied mathematics, and the algorithms she developed, are used in technology around the world, such as secure digital communication and encryption for the web,” Minister Price said.

“She was the first woman to serve as President of the Australian Mathematical Society, and the first woman to be awarded the Australian Academy of Science’s Lyle Medal.

“Her skills and experience will broaden the Council’s expertise in policy analysis and modelling. She is also a champion of women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics careers.

“Associate Professor Brownlie is a research scientist in environmental and agricultural sciences and Deputy Head of the School of Environment and Sciences at Griffith University.

“He is a former President of Science and Technology Australia from 2019-2021 and served with distinction through bushfire recovery and pandemic. His appointment will bring extensive policy analysis experience to the council.

“I also thank Professor Barbara Howlett and Professor Geordie Williamson for their valuable service on the Council and wish them all the best in the future.”  

The National Science and Technology Council is responsible for providing advice to the Prime Minister and other Ministers on important science and technology issues facing Australia.