New roadmap for Australian research infrastructure

Joint media release with the Minister for Education and Youth, the Hon Alan Tudge MP

An expert working group, led by Dr Ziggy Switkowski AO, will lead the development of a new roadmap to identify Australia’s research infrastructure needs and priorities for the next five to 10 years.

Minister for Education and Youth Alan Tudge said the 2021 Research Infrastructure Roadmap would continue to drive innovation and support Australia’s economic recovery.

“The world has changed significantly since the 2016 Roadmap and our national research infrastructure has played a vital role in supporting Australia’s recovery from events like bushfires and the COVID-19 pandemic,” Minister Tudge said.

“Our world-class science and research will continue to contribute to Australia’s response to the evolving challenges and opportunities we now face, and the roadmap will ensure our efforts are focussed on key areas.

“The roadmap will also support our research commercialisation agenda by identifying areas of opportunity at all stages of the research pipeline.”

The Australian Government will invest $4 billion in national research infrastructure to 2028-29 as part of its long-term commitment to the research sector.

The National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy (NCRIS) facilities currently employ 1400 highly skilled technical staff and support 65,000 industry, higher education and government researchers, as well as a further 12,000 international researchers.

Minister for Industry, Science and Technology Christian Porter said the roadmap would ensure Australia had access to the technologies needed to be at the forefront of global research and industry breakthroughs.

“Cutting-edge capabilities don’t appear overnight. Through the roadmap process, we can identify the domestic research infrastructure needed to help existing industries expand and innovate,” Minister Porter said.

“Investments in digital technology, science and research capability are fundamental to delivering on Government priorities, including boosting our manufacturing capability and securing Australia’s future prosperity and long-term productivity.”

The Expert Working Group will consult with the research community, universities, state and territory governments, industry and business to inform and lead the development of the new roadmap and help guide future investments in national research infrastructure.

Working group members have been chosen for their experience in collaborative research, industry, innovation and advanced technology.

The Expert Working Group members are:

  • Dr Ziggy Switkowski AO (chair)
  • Professor Liz Sonenberg
  • Dr Chris Roberts AO
  • Professor Barbara Howlett
  • Dr Michelle Perugini
  • Ms Lauren Stafford

The Expert Working Group also includes ex-officio members:

  • Dr Cathy Foley AO PSM, Australia’s Chief Scientist
  • Rob Heferen, Deputy Secretary Department of Education, Skills and Employment
  • David Williamson, Deputy Secretary Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources