Home > KarenAndrews > Media Releases >  New phase for Innovation and Science Australia

New phase for Innovation and Science Australia

21 December 2018

The Morrison Government has today announced a new Board Chair and five Board members for Australia’s peak innovation advisory body.

Minister for Industry, Science and Technology Karen Andrews said the appointment of Mr Andrew Stevens as incoming Chair will provide a renewed focus for Innovation and Science Australia (ISA) in 2019.

“Mr Stevens brings a wealth of experience to the ISA Board, building on the strong foundation created under the leadership of the former Chair Mr Bill Ferris AC,” Minister Andrews said.

“As former Managing Director of IBM Australia and New Zealand and Chair of the Advanced Manufacturing Growth Centre, his experience in leading large organisations with global reach will complement the skills of the other Board members.

“Mr Stevens will be well supported by Australia’s Chief Scientist, Dr Alan Finkel AO, who has been appointed for a further two years as Deputy ISA Board Chair.

“Dr Finkel will provide an important bridge between the work of ISA and the new National Science and Technology Council chaired by the Prime Minister.”

As a key measure of the Coalition’s National Innovation and Science Agenda, ISA provides expert advice to the Government on industry, innovation, science and research policy and investments.

Professor Elanor Huntington, the first female Dean of Engineering and Computer Science at the Australian National University, and Professor Raoul Mortley AO have also been newly appointed to the ISA Board.

“Professor Huntington and I are both passionate about encouraging more young women to take up science, technology, engineering and mathematics careers, and I am excited about the experience and perspective that she will bring to the ISA Board,” Minister Andrews said.

“Professor Mortley will also bring his experience of the higher education sector and knowledge in areas including the humanities and intellectual property.”

Ms Maile Carnegie and Mr Paul Bassat have been reappointed.

“With the new Board membership, ISA will be able to deliver high impact, fit for purpose advice to Government to drive economic growth and help improve the lives of all Australians through innovation.

“It is critical that we get this right, as innovation touches each and every one of us in our daily lives.”

For more information on Innovation and Science Australia visit www.industry.gov.au/strategies-for-the-future/innovation-and-science-australia.

Media contact: Minister Andrews' office 02 6277 7070