Home > Pyne > Media Releases >  CSIRO Board strengthened by new appointment

CSIRO Board strengthened by new appointment

29 February 2016

Professor Tanya Monro, Deputy Vice Chancellor and Vice President: Research and Innovation of the University of South Australia, has been appointed to the CSIRO Board.

Announcing her five year appointment, the Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science, the Hon Christopher Pyne MP, said Professor Monro’s background as a highly regarded physicist and her experience in the higher education and research sectors will complement the expertise of the CSIRO Board.

“It is important that CSIRO, Australia’s premier science research organisation, has board members who offer the right combination of skills, knowledge and expertise. Professor Monro will bring a valuable mix of skills to the CSIRO Board with her broad knowledge of innovation” Mr Pyne said.

“Professor Monro is an experienced board member and chairperson whose membership on the Commonwealth Science Council and the South Australian Economic Development Board will be of great benefit to her role on the CSIRO Board,” said Mr Pyne.

Professor Monro also chairs the Deputy Vice Chancellor Research Group of the Australian Technology Network of Universities and the National Youth Science Forum Council.

“Innovation is central to the Government’s economic agenda and Australia’s future prosperity” Mr Pyne said.

"Collaborative initiatives with the university sector and industry helps CSIRO make the most effective contribution to the Australian innovation system. Professor Monro will bring a strong understanding of the value of these collaborations to the board."

“I congratulate Professor Monro on her appointment and I look forward to working with the board as CSIRO maintains and expands its place as Australia’s pre-eminent research organisation."

Professor Monro’s appointment to the CSIRO Board commenced on 25 February 2016. Professor Monro’s biography is attached.

For further information, visit www.csiro.au

Media contact: Mr Pyne's office 02 6277 7070, pynemedia [at] industry.gov.au
Department media: media [at] industry.gov.au