Home » Macfarlane » Media Releases » Industry Growth Centre appointments

Industry Growth Centre appointments

17 February 2015

The rollout of the Australian Government’s Industry Growth Centres will be steered by a panel of highly-experienced and internationally regarded business identities, who will provide a direct link to both the Australian and global business communities.

Minister for Industry and Science Ian Macfarlane today announced Chairs for three of the Industry Growth Centres, as well as an independent Advisory Committee.

“Australia is well served by a strong business community with business men and women who have both the experience and the international reputation to guide Australian industry into a new era of opportunity based on our areas of competitive strength,” Mr Macfarlane said.

“The independent Advisory Committee and the Chairs of the Industry Growth Centres will provide Australian businesses with an extended reach into expanding international markets.”

The appointees are:

  • Mr Andrew Stevens, Chair of the Advanced Manufacturing Growth Centre
  • Ms Elizabeth Lewis-Gray, Chair of the Mining Equipment, Technology and Services Growth Centre
  • Mr Peter Schutz, Chair of the Food and Agribusiness Growth Centre

The Growth Centres Advisory Committee independent members are Mr John Grill AO (Chair), Ms Catherine Livingstone AO, Dr Andrew Liveris AO, and Ms Carolyn Hewson AO.

“These respected appointees have extensive industry expertise and board experience,” Mr Macfarlane said.

“They are industry leaders who will bring together key stakeholders in their sectors to work in collaboration.

“These Chairs will work with their sectors to develop a proposal for their respective Growth Centres. I expect these three Growth Centres will be up and running by the middle of this year.

“The Australian Government is providing industry with an opportunity to face its challenges, take the lead and grow in areas of our economic strengths.

“The $188.5 million Industry Growth Centres Initiative will establish five Growth Centres in key growth sectors: advanced manufacturing; food and agribusiness; medical technologies and pharmaceuticals; mining equipment, technology and services; and oil, gas and energy resources.

“They will set strategies and deliver outcomes under the four themes of encouraging collaboration and the commercialisation, enhancing workforce skills, identifying opportunities to reduce regulatory burden, and improving capabilities to engage with international markets.

“A significant goal for the Growth Centres will be to forge better links between industry and Australia’s world-class researchers, to maximise the return on our $9.2 billion annual investment in science and research.”

The remaining two Chair appointments will be announced soon.

For more information on the Industry Growth Centres Initiative and biographies of the members of the independent Advisory Committee and the three Growth Centre Chair appointees visit http://business.gov.au/IndustryGrowthCentres/

Media Contact: Mr Macfarlane's office 02 6277 7070