Home » Macfarlane » Media Releases » Appointment of Chief Scientist Ian Chubb extended

Appointment of Chief Scientist Ian Chubb extended

25 February 2015

Joint Media Release with The Hon. Tony Abbott MP, Prime Minister

The appointment of Australia’s Chief Scientist Professor Ian Chubb AC has been extended to the end of 2015.

The Government is pleased Professor Chubb has agreed to continue as Australia’s Chief Scientist until the end of the year to continue his important work in advising on Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, which is a priority under the Industry Innovation and Competitiveness Agenda.

Professor Chubb will also continue to work with the Government on developing and implementing science and research priorities through the Commonwealth Science Council.

We have put science at the centre of industry policy and we are building a culture of entrepreneurship that will help Australian industry and the science community work together.

The Government is working to ensure a smooth transition to the next Chief Scientist. We will shortly commence a detailed and thorough international recruitment process for a new appointee to this important role.

The Chief Scientist provides high level independent advice to the Government and is an advocate for Australian science internationally.

The Commonwealth Government is investing around $9.2 billion in science, research and innovation in 2014-15 and has announced a $12 million commitment to boosting interest in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics or STEM subjects in schools.

Professor Chubb began his tenure in 2011 and is Australia’s seventh Chief Scientist since the role was established in 1989.

Media contact: Mr Macfarlane's Office 02 6277 7070